Published on July 27, 2017
Before an account is permanently deleted, it gets deactivated. Accounts on our system can become deactivated in a variety of ways: if you don't sign in once every three weeks with a legacy free account, if you don't upgrade your free trial account, if you don't renew your premium subscription, or if you cancel your account.
In all these cases, the account gets deactivated for one year. During that year, the account can be reactivated by upgrading to a Hushmail Premium account (and keeping up with the payments). If one year passes with no request to reactivate, the account is permanently deleted. Once an account has been deleted, either by your request or after being deactivated for one year, that username can never be used again.